UPF, MAFYF, NIPCO demand explanations
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, July 13: The United People's Front, Manipur, National Identity Protection Committee and Manipur Forward Youth Front have demanded an explanation from the 11 MLAs and the two MPs who appended their signatures on the memorandum endorsing the creation of a Greater Nagaland and which was submitted to the Prime Minister of India.

In separate statements, the three organisations today said that as people representing Manipur, the 13 political leaders need to explain to the people, why they want to dismember Manipur to bring a solution to the ongoing talks between the NSCN (IM) and the Government of India.

The State Government too should not sleep over the matter as it came even after the Assembly had adopted resolutions to protect the territorial integrity of Manipur.

The two MPs and the 11 MLAs who signed the memorandum are Rishang Keishing (RS MP), Mani Charenamei (LS MP), Gaikhangam (MLA), Francis Ngajokpa (MLA), A Aza Shimray (MLA), BD Behring (MLA), DK Korungthang (MLA), Wungnaoshang Keishing (MLA), Danny Shaiza (MLA), Henry Paotei (MLA), RK Theko (MLA), Samuel Jendai (MLA) and Z Mangaibou (MLA).

The three organisations also demanded that the State Government should make its stand clear over the signing of the memorandum by the two MPs and the 11 MLAs.

All political parties in Manipur should also take a serious view of the matter and make their stand known to the people of Manipur, demanded the three organisations.