House decides to serve notices on Justices NS Singh and BB Deb
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, July 24: The State Assembly has decided to serve show cause notices on Justices N Surjamani and BB Deb.

Speaker TN Haokip has been entrusted with the task of drawing the date and time of serving the notices on the two Justices.

This decision was taken after Deputy Speaker L Lala who is also the Chairman of the Privilege Committee of the Assembly tabled an interim report of the Committee on the floor of the Assembly which said that the two Justices in question had interfered in the proceedings of the Assembly.

With the Assembly adopting the interim report of the Privilege Committee, the House agreed that the two Justices had interfered with the proceedings of the House which amounts to breach of privilege of the Assembly.

It was ultimately decided to issue show cause notices on the two as to why action should not be initiated against them for contravening the privileges of the Assembly.

Discussing the interim report tabled by the Privilege Committee, Opposition MLA Dr Nimaichand Luwang said that though Justice Surjamani was summoned to the Committee room of the Assembly at 10 am today he failed to turn up.

Mover of the motion O Joy and the AG who were also asked to come, turned up and they have been examined by the Committee, added Dr Nimaichand Luwang.

The Opposition MLA further said that instead of complying with the summon order of the Assembly, Justice BB Deb issued an order putting a stay on the summon order served to Justice Surjamani by the Privilege Committee of the Assembly.

By this very act, BB Deb has infringed not only upon the privilege of the Assembly but has violated the Constitution of India, he added.

Since Justice Surjamani has not adhered by the order of the Assembly it amounts to contempt of the House, said Luwang.

FCS Minister Ph Parijat said that it would be in the fitness of things to issue show cause notices on the two Justices.

O Joy observed that the Judiciary is trying to subvert the independence of the Legislature.