29 file papers for third phase polling
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, February 01: with 29 aspirants filing nomination papers one day before the deadline, the number of candidates whose fate would be decided in the third phase polling on February 23 has gone upto 40 till today.

Last date of submitting the nomination papers for the third and final phase is tomorrow with the scrutiny set for February 5 and withdrawal of candidacy to be entertained upto February 7.The third phase will witness electorates of Tamenglong, Churachandpur and Chandel districts as well as Jiribam sub-division exercising their franchise rights on February 23. BJP candidate in Saikot AC, Ng Haokip said he will file his nomination papers tomorrow at CCpur Hqs.

Including seven independent candidates nomination papers were filed by nine aspirants for 41-Chandel AC - the highest number of contestants so far in any constituency going to the polls in the final phase.

With the exception of Thangkholun Haokip (RJD) and DN Haokip (CPI) entering the fray the Independent entrants for the said Assembly segment are ST Seo Kolari, KL Thunghring, KL Kapoor Anal, RT Robirthson, D Rengo, L Benjamin and Nunghlung.

While none from Tamei AC filed nomination on second day today, Henglep AC had five, including a female, aspirants expecting maximum votes.

They are Dr Jainson Haokip (MPP), T Manga Vaiphei (INC), Mrs Tinkhnei Haokip (RJD), Thangliangsang (NCP) and T Thangzalam Haokip (LJP).

For Nungba AC in Tamenglong district, Thomas Panmei (RJD) and Sangamlung (Ind) filed their respective papers at Imphal while Khangthuanang Panmei (Ind) was the lone candidate who confirmed candidacy today for Tamenglong AC.

Dr Chaltonlien Amo of the INC was also the lone entrant for Tipaimukh AC in today�s poll process as V Langkhanpao Guite (NPP) for Churachandpur AC, Lalthanlien (NCP) for Saikot AC and Ashangbam Biren (NCP) officially recorded their candidatures today.

Tengnoupal AC had three aspirants in the form of Jangkholet Haokip (SJP/BJP), Chungsei (RJD) and Morung Makunga (Ind) followed by two - Thangso baite (INC) and T Hangkhanpao (NPP) - for Singhat AC.

For Thanlon AC, Tuanzalian (CPI), V Hangkhanlian (NPP) and N Paochindou (LJP) filed their nominations today.

Meanwhile, the BJP Manipur Pradesh nominated Letkhosei Haokip and Ngamkholun Haokip to contest the third phase poll from Henglep and Saikot assembly constituencies respectively.