Cong readies to form next Govt
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, February 27: With the Congress emerging as the single largest party with 30 MLAs out of the total 60 seats, MPCC president Gaikhangam has informed that Congress will soon claim to form the next Government.

Talking to The Sangai Express at Congress Bhawan today, Gaikhangam who retained his seat at Nungba AC, maintained that the verdict of the election shows that the people of Manipur want Congress party to remain in power.

In accordance with the aspirations of the people, Congress party would pay special attention for restoring peace and bring more development in Manipur, he said.

However, Gaikhangam shied away from commenting on whether Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh will be the next Chief Minister or there would be a change in leadership stating ´┐ŻLet it be decided by the newly elected members of the Congress´┐Ż.

Nonetheless, he hoped there would not be any difference of opinion on the leadership of CLP.

Being a National party, a consensus leader would be chosen very soon so as to complete the process for formation of a new Govt led by Congress within the first week of March , he added.

Even after declaration of the all results of the election, the State unit Congress president was seen remaining at Congress Bhavan discussing matters related to formation of the next Government with the AICC officials who are presently campaigning at Imphal in connection with the election.

Some of the successful party candidates were also seen arriving at Congress Bhavan, but Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh was conspicuous by his absence.

Out of 59 candidates fielded to contest in the election to the 60-member Assembly, Congress party secured 30 seats and from among the successful candidates 18 of them are sitting MLAs, six of them are ex-MLAs and six others are new entrants.

Meanwhile, Chairman of CPI Control Commission M Ibohal has expressed hope that the Congress-CPI coalition SPF Government would be reinstated.

A joint meeting of elected candidates of both the parties including the Chief Minister is scheduled to be held tomorrow, he disclosed.