BJP name candidates for assembly polls
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, January 13: BJP has come out with names of eight candidates including a woman in the first phase of the announcement of its candidates for the 9th Manipur Legislative Assembly election which is slated to be held in February.

The names of the candidates are sitting MLA Meinam Bhorot for 9-Thangmeiband A/C, L Raghumani for 10-Uripok A/C, former Assembly Speaker Dr Haobam Borbabu for 15-Wangkhei A/C, M Tombi Devi for 22-Wangoi A/C, H Nikunja for 23-Mayang Imphal A/C, P Munal Singh for 32-Wangkhem A/C, Mangcha Haokip for 46-Saikul A/C and Zabiaksang for 56-Thanlon A/C.With the exception of naming party nominee for the 32-Wangkhem A/C of Thoubal district where election would be conducted in the first phase for the 10 Assembly Constituencies on February 8, the names of other candidates have not yet been announced.

Similarly, the party has not yet named its candidates for the three Assembly Constituencies of Ukhrul district and six Assembly Constituencies of Senapati district which would go to the poll on February 8. According to information received by the press, the meeting of the party's State Election Committee would be held tomorrow so that names of candidates for the second phase could also be announced very soon.

BJP is likely to field atleast 20 candidates in the election.

Meanwhile, State Unit BJP has send a fax message to the Prime Minister urging for intervention to end the ongoing economic blockade being called by All Tribal Students' Union, Manipur (ATSUM) in pursuance of their demand.

The message faxed to the Prime Minister highlighted the problems being faced by the common people of people following the imposition of the economic blockade by ATSUM since January 5.Charging the Government with inaction in this regard, the fax message urged the Central Government for immediate intervention and taking up necessary measures for lifting the economic blockade.