Spurned Ibohal joins SP, set to gun for MPP
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, January 23: The Samajwadi Party has admitted six former members of the MPP into its fold and has awarded them the party's ticket to contest the forthcoming 9th Assembly election, State unit president of Samajwadi Party S Dhananjoy announced today.

Addressing mediapersons at the party's office at Keishampat here today, Dhananjoy, who is a former Speaker of the State Assembly announced that six former MPP members would be contesting the election on SP tickets.

They are Col Haobam Bhuban Singh for Singjamei A/C, Salam Ibohal for Thanga A/C, Maibam Bijoy for Nambol A/C, Ksh Brajamani for Kshetrigao A/C, K Ranbir for Konthoujam A/C and M Sarat for Khundrakpam A/C.The chairman of MPP Chanura Marup and Minority Cell has also joined Samajwadi Party from today, Dhananjoy informed, adding that more are expected to come into the fold of his party.

Salam Ibohal, who also spoke at the occasion, said MPP is the political party which Samajwadi would try to defeat in the election first of all and the second target is Congress party.

Meanwhile the Rashtriya Janata Dal, manipur has today announced nomination of Keisham Ninthemjao and N Zatawn as party candidates for Andro and Thanlon Assembly Constituencies respectively.

Meanwhile, MPP has named Dr Ch Chandramani Singh as its nominee in Thangmeiband AC.

The MPP will not field candidates for Thongju and Keirao ACs, informed a party release.