UNC declares election contestants for five ACs
Source: The Sangai Express / Newmai News Network

Imphal, January 19: The United Naga Council (UNC) has made a declaration of 'consensus candidates' today while contestants in six out of 11 Assembly constituencies where Nagas have substantial presence are yet to be cleared.

Out of the total Assembly segments scattered in the four hill districts candidates for five ACs were announced keeping in abeyance candidates for Karong, Mao, Tamenglong, Nungba, Tengnoupal and Chandel seats.

Speaking to NNN tonight ex-president of UNC, L Benjamin who is also a senior advocate said that consensus candidates have been declared and identified them as N Awangbow for Tamei A/C, K Raina for Tadubi A/C, Dr Khashim Ruivah for Chingai A/C, Danny Shaiza for Ukhrul A/C and Wungnaoshang Keishing for Phungyar AC.

In a statement, UNC information and publicity secretary S Milan said in the emergency meeting held at Katomei Community hall in Senapati participated by various social organisations of the Nagas "of present state of Manipur" declared names of the five consensus candidates.

"The above candidates have been short-listed from among 60 intending candidates who signed the UNC declaration on January 16 at Taphou Naga village," said the UNC statement.

"Naga people represented by the UNC appeal to all Naga people to maintain social tranquillity in the forthcoming 9th General Assembly Election of Manipur and ensure to strengthen call of the United Naga Council." UNC and its tribe Hohos, Naga Women Union, Manipur and its tribe womens' union, ANSAM and its constituent tribe units, NPMHR and apex district organisations participated in today's meeting, according to the UNC statement.