76 in fray for third phase poll
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, February 07: Dramatic development took place on the last day (today) of withdrawal of nomination papers for the third phase polling with as many as 10 candidates withdrawing from the fray, leaving the total number at 76. One prominent political figure who withdrew from the last stage is BD Behring Anal from Chandel Assembly Constituency.

Interestingly BD Behring had resigned from the Assembly and the BJP following the call of the United Naga Council.

The third phase polling will be held on February 23 for 12 Assembly Constituencies covering Chandel, Tamenglong and Churachandpur districts and Jiribam sub-division in Imphal East.

As many as six candidates withdrew from the race in Chandel Assembly Constituency.

The six who opted out from this Assembly segment include BD Behring Anal, ST Kohring Anal, S Jerol, KL Kapoor Anal, RT Rebirthson and KL Thunghring.

The others who withdrew their nomination papers are KH David Maring from Tengnoupal AC, Elmoun from Tipaimukh AC, Kailal Suantak from Thanlon and Mrs Khamkhoniang from Singhat AC.

Initially 88 intending candidates had filed their nomination papers for the third phase polling scheduled to be held on February 23. During scrutiny, the papers of two candidates were rejected while ten withdrew their nomination papers on the last day of withdrawal.

Though six candidates withdrew from Chandel AC, this Assembly segment has the highest number of candidates with 10. Singhat AC in Churachandpur district has the least number of candidates with three.

Thangso Baite, the sitting MLA of the INC will slug it out with T Hangkhanpao of the NPP and Thangliankhup of the SP.

Thanlon AC and Henglep AC have nine candidates each in the fray.

Jiribam AC has eight candidates in the fray including Congress veteran and senior Minister in the SPF Government Th Debendra.

The key AC of Churachandpur will see six candidates trying their luck with the ballot, including Phungzathang Tonsing, the sitting MLA and a senior Minister.

Saikot has six candidates including TN Haokip of the INC.

While the Congress has fielded candidates in all the 12 ACs, the MPP has fielded three candidates.

Independents make up the bulk of the candidates with 29.