Heavy weights who bit the dust
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, February 27: The election to the 9th Assembly turned out to be the Waterloo for a number of political heavy weights, including former Chief Ministers, former Deputy Chief Ministers, a former Union Minister and veteran politicians.

The MPP was the hardest hit with at least four heavy weights biting the dust.

The heavy weights shown the door include former Chief Minister RK Dorendra of the MPP from Yaiskul AC, former Chief Minister W Nipamacha of the RJD from Wangoi AC, former Deputy Chief Minister Dr L Chandramani of the MPP from Patsoi AC, former Union Minister Th Chaoba from Nambol AC and Dr Nimaichand Luwang of the MPP from Wangkhem AC.