1st phase scrutiny clears 84
1 declared invalid in Ukl AC, no MPP man in Ukl, Spt
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, January 22: A total of 84 candidates have been cleared during the scrutiny held today for the first phase polling for the 9th Assembly election.

The nomination paper of Aleng Shimrah, who had filed from Ukhrul Assembly Constituency as a Congress I candidate was found invalid.

The scrutiny exercise was taken up today at the offices of the respective Returning Officers for the first phase poll scheduled to be held on February 8 for which 19 Assembly segments will go to the polls.

However the scrutiny for Phungyar AC in Ukhrul district will be finalised tomorrow, said an official notification issued today.

Controversy also broke out during the scrutiny held for Saikul AC at the office the Returning Officer at Kangpokpi over the affidavits submitted by LJSP candidate Paolenmang Kipgen.

An official source said that while the names of the other candidates from the Saikul AC have been cleared, the case of Kipgen has been adjourned till 12.30 pm tomorrow.

The 19 Assembly segments are spread over the districts of Thoubal, Ukhrul, Senapati and Sadar Hills sub-division.

For Thoubal district, which has a total of 10 Assembly segments, the names of 42 candidates have been cleared in the scrutiny today.

The names cleared included, Chief Minister O Ibobi who is set to contest the election from Thoubal AC as well as his home turf Khangabok AC.

While the Congress is set to contest in all the 19 Assembly segments, Independents make up the bulk of the candidates with 31 in the fray.

The Naga dominated districts of Ukhrul and Senapati have the highest number of Independent candidates, following the decree of the United Naga Council, that it will not extend support to any National political parties at the husting.

At Ukhrul Assembly Constituency there are four candidates with two Independents while at Chingai AC, there are three Independent candidates out of the five who have filed their nomination papers.

The scrutiny for Phungyar AC will be finalised tomorrow and out of the six candidates who have filed their nomination papers, four are Independent candidates.

The MPP which is expected to give a tough fight to the Congress, especially in the valley areas has fielded eight candidates.

Significantly all the eight MPP candidates are fielded only in Thoubal district with the party failing to field anyone in the hill districts of Ukhrul and Senapati as well as at Sadar Hills sub-division.

Coming close behind MPP is surprisingly the LJSP which has nominated seven candidates for the first phase polling.

The NCP and RJD are next with five candidates each in the first phase polling.

The CPI which is a partner of the Congress in the SPF Government has fielded four candidates.

There are two BJP candidates for the first phase polling.

Other parties include the MSCP, JD (U), SP, NPP and NNP.

Three women candidates have also filed their nominations for the first phase election.

The three women include Valley Rose Hungyo of NNP (Phungyar AC), Amrita Ningshen, an Independent candidate in Phungyar AC and Rose Mangshi of the BJP in Saitu Assembly Constituency.

Kangpokpi Assembly segment has the highest number of candidates with 9 filing their nomination papers while Khangabok AC and Lilong AC have the lowest with three candidates filing their names.

The last date for withdrawal of nomination is January 24.According to an official notification, two election observers deputed by the Election Commission of India for the first phase polling in Senapati district arrived at Imphal on January 20.Meanwhile four candidates have filed their nomination papers today.

The four include T Mangibabu in Thanga Assembly Constituency (INC), M Kumar in Sagolband AC (NCP), L Sumatibala in Keishamthong AC (CPI) and H Nabashyam in Singjamei AC (BJP).