All but 2 State MLAs vote in presidential poll
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, July 15: Of the 60 legislative members in the State Assembly, fifty eight exercised their voting rights to elect the Indian President, election of which was conducted today all over the country with Parliament MPs and legislative members of States and union territories turning up to vote.

Bijoy Koijam, MoS Family Welfare and Samuel Jendai, MLA, refrained from voting which began from 10 am till 5 pm.

While Jendai cited health reason through an intimation sent to the Assembly Speaker reasons why Bijoy Koijam absented from voting is yet to be ascertained.

TN Haokip led the voting conducted under the supervi sion of centrally appointed Presidential election observer K Chandramouli, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Labour, Govt of India.

Chourajit, Secretary Manipur Legislative Assembly presided as Assistant Returning Officer during the voting.

After State Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh voted last the ballot box was sealed and kept under strict security protection.

The Observer, Assistant Re turning Officer and L Ibotombi, Deputy Secretary, Assembly Administration will accompany the sealed ballot box to New Delhi for the counting to be held on July 18.VP poll: With the term of office of Vice President Krishna Kant expiring on August 29, Election Commission of India, through Chief Electoral Officer, Manipur issued an order declaring July 24 as dateline for nomination of candidature for the election to be held, if necessary, on August 12.