Except Left, all parties here may support Kalam
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, July 14: Of the 60 MLAs in the State Legislative Assembly all except the Left MLAs are likely to vote for the NDA nominee APJ Abdul Kalam as the new President of India.

The CPI has five MLAs in the State Assembly.

The Communist MLAs are expected to toe the line of their high command and vote for Captain Lakhsmi Sahgal who is an INA veteran.

The AICC has also pitched in for the candidature of Abdul Kalam.

The State Congress unit which is heading the SPF coalition Front has also decided to vote for Abdul Kalam.

This was decided during a CLP meeting held at the residence of the Chief Minister this evening.

The MSCP with its two MLAs is also expected to follow suit.

It is still not clear which way the other constituent partners of the Front, the DPP with two MLAs and the MNC with one MLA will go.

The Opposition bloc with 19 MLAs in its kitty had earlier announced that it would support the nominee of Abdul Kalam.

The vote of the three State MPS, two Lok Sabha and one Rajya Sabha are likely to go in favour of Kalam.

Meanwhile the State Chief Electoral Officer has announced that State MLAs will vote for the new President of India in the Committee Room of the State Legislative Assembly from 10 am to 5 pm tomorrow.

The Secretary of the Manipur Legislative Assembly has been designated as the Assistant Returning Officer and he will be responsible for the conduct of the voting under the direct supervision and control of the Election Commission of India.

Joint Secretary on the Ministry of Labour, K Chandramouli has been appointed by the Election Commission of India as the Observer of the election at Imphal, said the notification.

He arrived here today and is accommodated at the State Guest House, Babupara.