Elected members of 9th Assembly take oath of office, secrecy
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, March 07: Legislators elected to the 9th Manipur Legislative Assembly have been administered oath of office and secrecy by Protem Speaker Okram Joy Singh at the Assembly hall today.

With the exception of four MLAs, all the other legislators in the 60-member House took part in today's oath taking ceremony.

The elected members of the 9th Manipur Legislative Assembly taking the oath of office and secrecy at the Assembly Hall.

The four absentees include leader of the Congress Legislature Party and Chief minister Okram Ibobi Singh, MPCC president Gaikhangam, Phungzathang Tonsing and Thounaojam Shyamkumar.

While Ibobi, Gaikhangam and Phungzathang are reported to be in New Delhi consulting AICC leaders on SPF Ministry formation, Th Shyamkumar is currently detained at Delhi's Tihar Jail.

Shyamkumar was elected from Andro Assembly Constituency on MPP ticket.

prior to administering the oath that began at 11 am, an order issued by Governor Dr SS Sidhu regarding appointment of O Joy as the Protem Speaker and notification effected by the Election Commission of India on February 28 were read out by the Assembly Secretary.

The oath taking ceremony concerns pledge by the elected members to abiding by the Constitution of India, safeguarding territorial integrity and unity of the country and discharging duties in an honest and transparent manner.

On the other hand, Congress Bhawan sources informed that O Ibobi, Gaikhangam and Phungzathang are likely to return to tomorrow apparently with instruction and consent of the AICC leaders on the SPF Ministry formation and individuals likely to be accommodated in the Council of Ministers.

The present strength of the SPF Government is 36 including alliance partners.

It is informed the Council of Ministers and allocation of ministerial portfolios may be finalised on March 9.The Chief Minister had earlier said that the Council of Ministers will be announced after Yaoshang.

It may be reminded that O Ibobi Singh had submitted a list of 29 Congress MLAs, four CPI MLAs and three RJD legislators to the Governor claiming their support consequently leading to Dr SS Sidhu administering the oath of office and secrecy to O Ibobi Singh on March 2.The first sitting of the 9th Assembly will be on March 16 and a new Speaker will be elected.