Wungnaoshang Keishing quits Cong, not Assembly
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, December 31: In a gesture to show support to the ongoing peace talk between NSCN (IM) and the Government of India, MLA of 43 Phungyar Assembly Constituency Wungnaoshang Keishing has tendered his resignation letter to the AICC president through MPCC president today.

Keishing has however not resigned from the Assembly.

A copy of the resignation letter made available to the press mentioned that the Naga struggle should not be opposed by other communities and the Nagas should not oppose the movements of other communities.

In spite of the repeated demands of the tribal peoples, the 6th Schedule of the Indian Constitution has not been implemented even as elections were held regularly in the valley areas for Municipalities, Panchayats and Gram Panchayats.

The six ADCs of the hill areas remained defunct without elections being conducted for the last 18 years.

Moreover, the Manipur Hill Area Village Authority Act of 1957 has not been amended to suit the tribal people, asserted the letter.

The MLA further blamed the SPF Government of neglecting Ukhrul district and utter failure of civil administration in all the hill districts.

Clarifying on the allegation that he had withdrawn his signature he signed on May 27, 2005 for the cause of Naga integration, Wungnaoshang Keishing refuted the allegation as baseless.

Keishing is the fifth Naga MLA to resign from his political party.

Earlier, Danny Shaiza of Ukhrul AC , BD Behring of Chandel AC, Henry Paotei of Karong AC and Samuel Jendai of Tamenglong AC tendered their resignations from the Assembly as well as from their respective political parties.

All the resignations have come in the wake of the UNC asserting that it would support only those candidates who will work for the Naga interest and are not affiliated to National parties.