BJP list taken to Delhi
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, January 09: BJP NE in-charge PB Acharya today left for New Delhi carrying the list containing the names of 92 BJP candidate aspirants for approval of the party high command.

The list is expected within one week's time.

Before his departure for New Delhi, Acharya told a press conference that his party expecting to double the number of seats it won in the last State Assembly elections.

BJP will be fielding candidates in 51 Assembly constituencies, 12 more than the 39 it had fielded last time.

Till today, the party has received applications from 92 ticket aspirants including four women, he added.

He predicted that the BJP will play a vital role in the formation of the new Ministry in the State.

The party will win double the number of seats it had won in the last general elections, he said.

Out of the six persons who won on BJP tickets, four are still with the party, and are confident of winning.

The joining of ex-MLAs Sepu Haokip and Selkai Hrangchal from RJD and BD Behring from MSCP has reinforced the party strength, he added.

Acharya said the door is opened for striking alliance with all political parties except Congress and the CPI.

He said that of the four women ticket aspirants, one is a hill woman.

The four women are Along Chongloi in Saikul AC Th Manisang in Konthoujam AC, N Gambhini in Kshetrigao AC and E Sabitri in Hiyanglam AC.

The candidate list will be released within a week, he said.

State BJP president Meinam Bhorot who was also present in the press meet said that the State is facing the present turmoil as politicians had resorted to political indiscipline during the previous term.

He hoped that the trend will change in after this round of elections.

Several top party functionaries including former Chief Minister RK Dorendra were present in the press conference held at the BJP office at Old Lambulane.

Kerani joins MPP: Former Minister and ex-MLA from Moirang Assembly constituency L Kerani Singh has left the NCP and joined the Manipur Peoples Party (MPP) today.

Party president O Joy has approved his joining, said a statement of the party.

In a separate statement, the party said that its joint secretary K Krishnachandra will be put up as party candidate in Bishnupur AC in the coming elections.