106 file nomination papers today
Source: The Imphal Free Press

Imphal, January 21: With the last date for filing of nomination papers for the Assembly elections just two days away, at least 106 candidates filed their papers for various constituencies before their respective returning officers today.

A total of 53 candidates filed their nomination papers for various Assembly constituencies in Imphal west district today, including Radhabinod Koijam in Thangmeiband A/c, P Achou in Uripok A/c, M Kumar and Dr Kh Loken in Sagolband A/c, L Jayentakumar in Keisamthong A/c, H Bhuban in Singjamei A/c, and O Joy Singh in Langthabal A/c, among others.

In Bishnupur constituency, two candidates filed for Nambol constituency, three for Oinam, four for Bishnupur, four for Moirang constituency, six for Thanga and another four for Kumbi constituency.

10 candidates also filed their nomination papers in three Assembly constituencies of Thoubal district.

In Churachandpur, 12 candidates filed their nomination papers.

Three candidates filed for Thanlon A/c, including former MP Songchinkhup (INC), three for Singngat, including N Zatawn (FPM), three for Henglep, including T Manga Vaiphei (Samata), two for Tipaimukh A/c, including Dr Chaltonlien Amo of the INC while former state Congress chief T Phungzathang was the lone candidate to file for Churachandpur A/c.Five candidates have filed nominations in Ukhrul district, including former CM Rishang Keishing in Phungyar constituency, Dr AS Arthur in Ukhrul A/c and Dr Khashim Ruivah in Chingai A/c.