Left parties, JD (S) to support Dr Nara
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, March 27: With the constituent members of the Opposition Democratic People's Alliance agreeing to put up a common candidate in both the Inner and Outer Manipur Parliamentary constituencies Left parties including the Janata Dal (Secular) have also agreed to support CPI candidate Dr Moirangthem Nara in the upcoming 14th Lok Sabha elections.

Representatives of the Left parties along with JD (S) convened a meeting today at Irawat Bhavan and discussed on strategies to defeat the BJP, particularly in the Inner constituency so as to elect Dr Nara, said CPI election campaign committee secretary L Sotinkumar.

CPM and RSP have formally announced to extend support to Dr Nara during the meeting though the JD (S) agreed in principle to support Left candidate in the Inner seat with the formal announcement likely to be made after the holding a separate meeting of the party.

Meitram Shamu, P Rajen and W Kullabidhu along with party colleagues represented CPM, RSP and JD (S) respectively while the CPI was represented by its campaign committee chairman Ph Parijat, who is also the chairman of the CPI election campaign committee, IFC Minister N Mangi; chairman of party's control commission chairman M Ibohal and State unit secretary of the party B Sharma.

The meeting also decided to form a separate election committee within a day or two represented by members of the four Left parties, said Sotinkumar.

On the party's earlier decision to support proposed Congress nominee in the Outer seat, he said the issue did not figure in the meeting as its concerns only the CPI.

Since the date of filling of nominations for the Outer seat has been fixed on March 31 by the Chief election Officer a final decision on whether to review decision to extend support to the congress would be taken before the dateline, added Sotinkumar.