Cong, FPM, Samata tally increase
Source: The Imphal Free Press

Imphal, February 26: The Indian National Congress, the Federal Party of Manipur and the Samata Party have increased their tally by one each, with the declaration of election results for three more Assembly constituencies today.

The INC is still in the lead with 16 seats, out of 55 whose results have been declared so far, while the FPM is in second place with 13.The Samata Party now has three seats.

Sitting MLA Sonchinkhup, representing the INC, was re-elected in 56-Thanlon A/c, defeating his nearest rival John K Ngaihte of the SAP by a margin of 1008 votes.

Sonchinkhup received a total of 4825 votes.

In the meantime, in 53-Tamenglon A/c, the sitting MLA, Samuel Jendai, representing the Federal Party was also returned to the Assembly, defeating Congress candidate Khanthuanang Panmei by over 2000 votes.

Jendai secured 9696 votes.

Another sitting MLA, T Manga Vaiphei, representing the Samata Party, was also re-elected in 57-Henglep A/c, securing a total of 7660 votes as against the 3662 votes secured by his nearest rival, the Congress's T Thangzalam Haokip.

In the meantime, counting of votes for 52-Tamei and 54-Nungba constituencies is reported to be in progress with ballot boxes from the polling stations which went to the polls yesterday beginning to arrive at the district headquarters this afternoon.

However, as not all ballot boxes have arrived, declaration of results will have to wait till tomorrow.

Repolls in three polling stations of 53-Tamenglong constituency, seven polling stations of 52-Tamei A/c, and three polling stations of 54-Nungba A/c were held yesterday.

Counting of votes for 48-Mao A/c, where a second repoll was held at 48/15 Sajouba polling station, is also reported to be in progress.

Repolls at polling stations no 55/21-Lungthulen and 55/23-Rovakot of Tipaimukh A/c, polling stations 60/1, 60/2, 60/9, 60/10, 60/13, 60/14, 60/15, 60/18, 60/19, 60/20,60/21, 60/22,60/23, 60/36 of 60-Singhat AC are to be held tomorrow.