Six MLAs submit resignations
Source: Hueiyen News Service

Imphal, May 06 2010: Six independence MLAs from three hill districts have reportedly submitted resignation papers to the Speakers of Manipur Legislative Assembly today protesting against the Manipur government decision not to allow Muivah entry in the state.

The six MLAs from Ukhrul, Senapati and Tamenglong districts, Dr Kashim Ruivah, Morung Makunga, Awangbou Newmai, K Raina, M Thorii and Wungnaoshung Keishing had submitted their resignation papers to the Speaker, Dr Sapam Dhananjoy today through fax messages in the Manipur Legislative Assembly secretariat.

Danny Sheiza is also likely to submit his resignation tomorrow, sources said.

Fax massages from the six independence MLAs who were reportedly camping at New Delhi have been received at the Assembly secretariat but the Speaker was not in his office, acceptance is yet to be given to the resignations.

The Speaker returned from New Delhi only today.

MLAs from hill districts of the state are under pressure for tendering resignation from various hill based civil organisations opposing the holding of elections to the Manipur (Hills) District Council under the existing amendment act, the Manipur (Hills) District Council (Third Amendment) Act 2008 even as state election commission is all set to conduct the two phase elections on May 26 and June 2 next.