Naga bodies hail MLAs
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, May 09 2010: The United Naga Council, Naga women's Union, All Naga Students Association Manipur and Naga People's Movement for Human Rights have conveyed appreciation to the seven) Naga MLAs who had announced resignation from the manipur Legislative Assembly on moral ground in the wake of the Cabinet decision of the State Government to bar Ato Kilonser of GPRN Th Muivah from visiting his own native village, even after consent of the Government of India.

Acknowledging resignations of Morung Makunga 42 AC; Wungnaosang Keishing 43 AC; Danny Shaiza 44 AC; Dr Khashim Ruivah 45 AC; M Thohrii 48 AC; K Raina 49 AC; and N Awangbou 52 AC, the four Naga bodies in a joint statement said, "their strongest message of democratic protest against the total disregard of the informed opinion and wish of the people whom they represent is most timely and warmly welcomed by the Naga people.

"They have taken this decision of conscience in deference to the wish of the people they represent.

We are deeply grateful for abdication of their high offices as they found that their continuance as representative of the people is no more meaningful with the State Government adamantly opposed to the wish of their people" .

While congratulating the seven MLAs for their noble and mature statesmanship, they also urged the remaining three Naga MLAs namely Tribal Development Minister DD Thaisii, MPCC president Gaikhangam and Khangthuanang Panmei (53/AC) as well as all the conscientious legislators in the Manipur Assembly to resign from their offices in honour and respect of the students who have been killed and many others who suffered injuries during crackdown by State police personnel against protestors in Mao on May 6 .