Poll personnel to fan out today
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, April 15: Poll personnel and security forces detailed for duties in the first phase Outer manipur Parliamentary constituency elections on April 20 would begin to move out by tomorrow from their respective district headquarters for their designated polling booths and stations.

As part of the preparations for free and fair polling, security personnel detailed for duty at remote hill area had left for the district headquarters since April 13 from where their exact assignment would be charted out.

Along with requisite number of security personnel, poll officials would leave tomorrow for polling stations at Tipaimukh and Thanlon sub-divisions in Churachandpur district that has 41 polling stations.

Similarly, polling personnel detailed in all other stations would fan out by April 17 to reach their designated sites well in time for the first phase poll on April 20.According to sources, the polling personnel carrying Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) have to trudge on foot for three days to reach their above mentioned destinations.

leaving no room for error, State election authorities have already detailed BSF, CRPF, Assam Rifles and State police force personnel to far flung polling stations that would cover the Outer manipur parliamentary constituency with effect from April 13.Sources from the Election Control Room said unarmed security personnel would be deployed to man 1094 polling stations scattered in the outer constituency with armed BSF, CRPF and State police to stay vigil at the periphery of the polling stations.

Security would be tightened with Assam Rifles personnel instructed to conduct patrolling within their respective jurisdictions, added the source.

After conclusion of franchise, EVMs from 58 polling stations of Churachandpur district would be airlifted and deposited at the district headquarters within 4 pm of the same day.

For other district, no such arrangements have been made, further informed the source.

During an interaction with media persons today, Chura-chandpur district Deputy Commissioner A Ibocha informed that all election related measures for the district have been taken up.

Including 100 reserved polling personnel for the district a total of 1285 personnel would be utilised for the Outer seat poll besides services of Govt and private vehicles numbering about 143, said the DC adding that in addition to CRPf and BSF personnel 18 nodal officers have been appointed for the purpose.

Meanwhile, Transport Cell in-charge of the election BK Sharma has appealed to owners of those vehicles that has been requisitioned for election duty to report to the Transport Department at the earliest before the Department resorts to rampant detention of the vehicles.

BK sharma revealed that out of 300 Government department vehicles requisitioned for the elections only only 200 have reported so far.

He stressed that instead of concerned department heads merely citing compliance of the Govt order through paper works it would be more positive to send the vehicles failing which measures have been undertaken to detain vehicles used by the department officials.

A meeting held at the conference hall of the Old Secretariat presided by the Chief Secretary has also instructed respective Department heads to release the requisitioned vehicles without further delay.

While private vehicles would not be requisitioned for the elections vehicles engaged in commercial purposes would be utilised, added another source.