Winner takes all; Cong scores perfect 10 in 16 out of 32 ACs
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, May 13: Out of 32 Assembly segments that went to poll for the Inner Manipur Parliamentary Constitutency last month the victorious Indian National Congress nominee Dr Thokchom Meinya secured maximum number of votes at 16 Assembly Constituencies with the highest votes of 12,977 polled at his home constituency Konthoujam.

The break-up of Assembly segments where Dr Meinya garnered more votes than his rivals are Heingang (6379), Thongju (5948), Keirao (7596), Andro (7832), Keisamthong (2935), Wangkhei (4395), lamsang (8222), Konthoujam (12,977), Wangoi (8103), mayang Imphal (4790), Nambol (9263), Bishnupur (8665), Moirang (5256), Thanga (2759), Lilong (6854) and Thoubal (10,539).Significantly the Assembly Constituency of Nambol where Meinya polled 9263 votes is the home constituency of former MP Th Chaoba who contested the election despite the ban imposed by the KYKL.

However, the Assembly kendra is presently represented by a Congress MLA.

Although most of the Assembly segments belong to Congress MLA making inroads to Opposition strongholds like Andro, Keisamthong, Mayang Imphal, Moirang and Thanga kendras also contributed to Meinya's success in the Lok Sabha election.

The Assembly constituency where Meinya polled the least number of votes is Kumbi at 561 with yaiskul following at 854.Second placed Dr M Nara of the CPI managed to top at Khundrakpam (4928), Khurai (5103), kshetrigao (6218), Lamlai (5688), Uripok (2244), Singjamei (2491), Yaiskul (1885), Naoriya Pakhanglakpa (4189), Kumbi (3726) and Wangkhem (7481).Dr Nara's figure in these Assembly segments is also significant as the MLAs/Ministers of these kendras belong to rival parties.

Compared to Wangkhem kendra whose electorates favoured Dr Nara the most, only 1098 voters of nambol voted for the CPI stalwart.

Third placed Dr L Chandramani could cull maximum number of votes compared to other contestants at only four Assembly segments of Sagolband (2812), Sekmai (3551), Patsoi (6778) and langthabal (3625).At Oinam Dr Chandramani fared poorly managing only 297 votes.

In contrast the former MP Th chaoba could upstage his rivals at only Thangmeiband and Oinam Assembly kendras securing 2315 and 2966 votes respectively.

although chaoba garnered his highest number of votes at his home constituency Nambol (8898) Dr meinya outscored Chaoba by 365 votes even at his home ground.

Keirao kendra had a devastating effect on Chaoba's aspiration for re-election as only 601 voters pressed the BJP button.

Independent candidate Nongmaithem Iboyaima polled maximum votes of 163 at Khurai kendra while the other independent contestant Nongmaithem Homendra polled 158 and 123 votes at Heingang and sagolband Assembly kendras respectively.

Both the independent failed to touch the 100 mark in other constituencies.