Rescheduled polls peaceful
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, May 02: Out of 64 polling stations within Tamenglong district that went for the deferred poll on April 30, the total number of votes cast have been confirmed for 23 centres with the final report still awaited for the remaining booths.

At four polling stations within Tamei sub-division Longjon and Thingra recorded the highest number of voter turnout with only 21 voters not exercising their franchise for various reasons out of the total number of 253 and 580 voters respectively.

Mandeu totaled 457 out of 487 while Abem tallied 232 against the total list of 307, according to information provided by DIPR.

Voting figures at six booths of Tamenglong ST are as follows: Kabui Khullen 525 out of 535, Nagaching 440/479, Haochong (A) 536/692, Awangkhul 923/981, Haochong (B) 536/550, Nungtek 468/483.In Nungba sub-division where polling were conducted in 13 polling stations Longkaiphun polled 323 out of 362, Senpat Gangte 97/115, Chongmun 306/368, Taodaijang 366/400, Nungba Hqs 365/1211, Bolongdai 105/425, Kambiron 402/467, Lamdanamei 410/457, Lubanglong "70/786, Dollang 387/992, Luwanglong Khunou 520/624, Thanagong 409/416, Longpi 85/501.Meanwhile, sources from Tamenglong district informed that polling personnel and material like EVMs used at 47 polling station have been deposited at the Deputy Commissioner's office till today.

Information have also been provided regarding repoll likely to be recommended at Thangal polling station as the EVMs requisitioned for the centre arrived late.

After the first ones developed technical snag, replacements were asked but the same could not reach the said venue in time resulting in adjournment of the polls.

The source also conveyed that poll personnel assigned duty at three polling stations of Jiribam subdivision could not reach Tamenglong district headquarters due to heavy landslides at Sibilong area along the NH 53.