Wungnaoshang not conspicuously absent in House
Source: The Sangai Express / Newmai News Network

Imphal, July 07 2010: Except for Wungnaoshang Keishing, no Naga MLAs who had resigned in the wake of Mao-Gate firing incident, turned up for the Manipur Assembly Budget Session which started today.

The Naga MLAs had earlier come under pressure from UNC and ANSAM to resign over the ADC election stand off.

Wungnaoshang Keishing, the MLA from Phungyar Assembly Constituency attended the opening day of the Manipur Budget session for a brief period.

Seven Independent MLAs which include Dr Khasim Ruivah, Morung Mokunga, Danny Shaiza, Awangbow Newmei, Thorii, K Raina and Wungnaoshang Keishing submitted their resignations on May 6 in protest against the firing of the State security forces at Mao Gate in the Manipur-Nagaland border that had killed two Naga students.

The State security forces resorted to firing in the heat of protest by the Nagas at Mao Gate demanding that NSCN-IM leader Thuingaleng Muivah be allowed to visit his native village Somdal in Ukhrul district.

Meanwhile, till date the Speaker of the Manipur Legislative Assembly is yet to accept the resignations of the seven Naga MLAs.

Sitting arrangements for the already 'resigned' MLAs were made by the official of the Assembly secretariat.