6 Naga MLAs to stay away from session
Source: The Sangai Express / Newmai News Network

Imphal, July 08 2010: Out of the seven Independent MLAs who had submitted their resignations on May 6, six MLAs, all hailing from Naga community, pledged today that they would never participate in the ongoing Manipur legislative Assembly which kickstarted on Wednesday.

The six MLAs are Dr Khasim Ruivah of Chingai Assembly Constituency in Ukhrul district, Awangbow Newmei of Tamei Assembly Constituency in Tamenglong district, Morung Makunga of Tengnoupal Assembly Constituency of Chandel district, K Raina of Tadubi Assembly Constituency in Senapati district, M Thorii of Mao Assembly Constituency, also in Senapati district and Danny Shaiza of Ukhrul Assembly Constituency.

Initially there were seven Naga MLAs in the group but Wungnaoshang Keishing of Phungyar Assembly Constituency, Ukhrul district has started attending the ongoing Manipur legislative Assembly.

The six Independent MLAs disclosed today that on Wednesday they had dispatched a missive to the Speaker of Manipur Legislative Assembly pressing him to accept the resignations of the MLAs.

The six Naga MLAs said that they have fulfilled all the official procedures and rules on matters related to the resignation of any MLA and questioned that there is no reason why the Speaker should not accept their resignations.

"We will continue to press to accept our resignations to the Speaker," affirmed the six Naga MLAs.

It is pertinent to note that these seven Naga MLAs had submitted their resignations in protest against the Mao-Gate firing which killed two Naga students on May 6 in the wake of the proposed NSCN-IM leader Thuingaleng Muivah's visit and the Govt's decision to ban his visit.