Status of 'resigned' MLAs unclear
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, May 30 2010: Hardly 20 days after the seven independent Naga MLAs have tendered their resignation to the Speaker of Manipur Legislative Assembly, a big question has thrown up whether the MLAs resigned on their own or under some kind of influence.

Independent MLAs Wungnaoshang Keishing, Danny Saiza, Morung Makunga, M Thorii, Awangbou Newmai, K Raina and Dr Khasim Ruivah submitted their resignation letters to the Speaker in person on May 12 .

Speaker Dr Sapam Budhichandra asked the MLAs reasons for their resignation separately the same day.

The Speaker also took statements of the seven MLAs.

It is reported that the resignation letters tendered separately have aroused suspicion whether the resignation letters were tendered according to the Rules of Procedure, Conduct of Business or not.

At present, the resignation letters are under observation.

Speaking to The Sangai Express this afternoon, Speaker Budhichandra said that the resignation letters are being checked whether they are genuine and reasonable.

Saying that the Rules of Procedure, Conduct of Business does not specify any time frame to accept or reject resignation of MLA, Budhichandra informed that the Speaker of Andhra Pradesh Assembly did not accept resignation letters tendered by 11 MLAs of the State.

According to Rule No 315 (1) of the Manipur Legislative Assembly's Rules of Procedure, Conduct of Business, any member intending to resign from his/her seat should write his/her resignation letter in a form acceptable to the same rule in his/her own hand writing.

They should fix definite dates for their resignation to come into effect.

Under Rule No 315 (2), the Speaker should check whether the resignation letters are voluntary and genuine.

As of now, it cannot be confirmed whether the seven MLAs followed the prescribed rules while tendering their resignation letters.