Naga MLAs back NBSE affiliation
Source: The Sangai Express / The Morung Express

Dimapur, Aug 08: Five Naga MLAs belonging to the Manipur Legislative Assembly have written to the Prime Minister requesting for early intervention to give effect to the affiliation of all the private schools in the Naga areas in Manipur State to the Nagaland Board of School Education (NBSE) and approval thereof.

"We the Naga MLAs of the Manipur Legislative Assembly, in upholding the aspiration of our people we represent, decisively and resolutely support the stand of the Naga people", the five MLAs have stated in the letter written to the Prime Minister.

Reminding of the Naga Peoples Convention (NPC) declaration held under the aegis of the United Naga Council (UNC) on November 4, 2005 at Taphou Naga Village and the representation of the ANSAM for affiliation of all the private schools of the Naga areas of Manipur State to the NBSE, the Naga MLAs of Manipur sought the early intervention of the Prime Minister as a special case to effect affiliation.

The MLAs urged the Prime Minister for immediate intervention in order to avert anticipated 'inconveniences' which may jeopardize the careers of thousands of Naga students in the four Naga districts of Manipur.

The five Naga MLAs from Manipur who have signed the representation to the Prime Minister include BD Behring of 41 Chandel (ST) A/C, Wungnaoshang Keishing of 43 Phungyar (ST) A/C, D Shaiza of 44 Ukhrul (ST) A/C, Henry Paotei of 47 Karong (ST) A/C and Samuel Jendai of 53 Tamenglong (ST) A/C.Interestingly, the six other Naga MLAs, all from the Congress party did not append their signature to the representation.

They include MLA and MPCC (I) President Gaikhangam, A Aza, RK Thekho, DK Korungthang, Power Minister Francis Ngajokpa, and Z Mangaibou.