8.88 lakh to decide fate of valley candidates
Source: The Sangai Express.

Imphal, January 30: Altogether 14, 72,784 voters including 1568 service voters will decide the fate of 368 candidates including five women in the forthcoming 8th Assembly election in February.

The first phase of the election on February 14 in 40 valley Assembly constituencies will see a total electorate of 8, 88,895 including 461209 females.

Another 336 service voters will also exercise their franchise in the polls.

The second phase poll falling on February 21 in 20 hill Assembly constituencies will have 582321 voters including 292771 females.

The number of service voters is 1232.Of the 60 Assembly seats, Mao AC in Senapati district has the highest number of voters with 44706 followed by Karong Ac with 44304.Tipaimukh with 14297 voters is the least.

Among the valley segments, Moirang AC has the highest number of voters with 28201 while Singjamei has the least with 17883.A total of 368 candidates ate in the fray in the husting.

Nineteen candidates were rejected while another 20 withdrew their candidature after 390 submitted their nominations.

Sagolband AC will see a fight among 11 candidates, which is the highest in number followed by Khundrakpam, Tadubi and Churachandpur with 10 candidates each.

The constituencies with the least number of candidates are Tamei, Tamenglong, Nambol, Kakching, Tengnoupal and Ukhrul AC with three candidates each.

Two female candidates are contesting in Naoriya Pakhanglakpa AC while Konthoujam, Patsoi and Oinam ACs will have one female candidate each.

Altogether 201 candidates will fight for the 32 seats in Inner Manipur while Outer Manipur will see contests among 167 candidates for the 28 seats.

Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will be used for the first time in Manipur in six valley Assembly constituencies.