16 withdraw nominations
Source: The Sangai Express.

Imphal, January 28: Altogether 16 persons withdrew their nomination papers on the last day of the withdrawal of nomination papers of the Eight State Assembly/ election today.

However none of the candidates in Bishnupur, Ukhrul and Imphal West district withdrew their nominations.

Those who withdrew from the poll race in Thoubal district include MPP candidate in 33-Heirok AC L Krishnadas, Independent candidate L Ram in 34-Wangjing Tentha and JDU's A Nagin in 39-Sugnoo AC.

In Imphal East, Samata candidate Ch Ibohal in 15 Wangkhei and one in Jiribam withdrew their nomination papers today.

FPM's Chingkhanlian in 56-Thanlon AC in Churachandpur district, MSCP's Jonathan in Senapati district's 47-Karong and two in Saikul AC including JDU’s Jampao Haokip and NNP candidate in 58-Nungba AC in Tamenglong P Gaijinlung also withdrew their papers.