Repoll at four centres today
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, April 27: Repoll in four polling stations at Imphal West and Bishnupur district would be held tomorrow from 7 am till 5pm, as per an order issued today by the Chief Electoral Officer, Manipur.

In Sagolband assembly constituency the repoll will be conducted at Bijoy Govinda (11/1) where the repoll had to be ordered following miscreants snatching control unit of electronic voting machines (EVMs), cited the order.

Inability of the poll team to reach polling station in time due to tense law and order situation has been cited for repoll at Laphupat Tera (23/31) of Mayang imphal AC.

In the case of Bishnupur district's Kha-Thinungei-B (28/21) and Kumbi-D (29/11) polling stations the repoll have to be conducted due to snatching and destruction of EVMs and polling materials by suspected underground elements, contended the CEO order.

Informing all contesting candidates, election agents and political parties functioning in the State on the repoll dates, the statement also urged all the electors to exercise their franchise without fear.

It has also been reported that security personnel in adequate strength have already departed for the Imphal West polling stations.

Meanwhile, a separate statement of the CEO attributed the high turnout for the second phase polling in Manipur to tight security arrangements in all the polling stations.

He asserted that the security measures encouraged the voters to exercise their franchise without any fear despite grave threats and fear psychosis created over the past few weeks.

Such healthy trends speaks volume about the desire of the State electorate to vote and elect persons of their choice to represent them in the 14th Lok Sabha, the CEO said while adding that attempts made by unlawful elements to disrupt polls were thwarted by the security personnel.