Congress takes lead, two ex-CMs fall
Source: The Imphal Free Press

Imphal, February 24: The Indian National Party has emerged in the lead, winning 12 out of 33 seats declared as of 1:30 am tonight while the Federal Party of Manipur is in second place with seven seats even as counting of votes for the 8th Assembly elections, held on February 14 and 21 last progresses.

Among the major casualties of the day were former chief ministers, Radhabinod Koijam and Wahengbam Nipamacha, former Speakers N Babudhon, and K Borbabu, and former minister Th Bira, while prominent winners include former CM RK Dorendro and MPP chief O Joy Singh.

Former CM Radhabinod Koijam, representing the Samata Party, was the first political bigwig to bite the dust today, losing out to the state BJP chief Meinam Bhorot Singh by a margin of 1360 votes in Thangmeiband constituency.

Another former chief minister, Wahengbam Nipamacha, also bit the dust, losing out to Y Mani Singh of the MSCP in Wangoi Assembly constituency.

Mani secured 7526 votes as against Nipamacha's 6811.On the other hand, another former CM, RK Dorendro of the BJP, won again in Yaiskul Assembly constituency, defeating former finance minister E Kunjeshwor of the INC by 1116 votes.

In Wangkhei A/c, former minister Yumkham Erabot, who contested as an MSCP candidate after being denied the Congress ticket, emerged successful, securing a total of 7999 votes.

The FPM candidate A Rajen Sharma, who was 530 votes behind, was in second place.

The sitting MLA, Dr H Borbabu, was in third place with 6218 votes.

In Langthabal A/c, MPP chief O Joy Singh was re-elected, defeating his nearest rival, K Babudhon of the MNC, by a margin of 738 votes.

In Jiribam A/c, INC candidate Th Debendra defeated his nearest rival, A Biren of the MNC, by a margin of 939 votes to return to the state Assembly.

The INC's N Loken emerged successful in 24-Nambol A/c, defeating the sitting MLA and former minister Th Bira Singh by a margin of 798 votes.

N Bihari of the FPM has won in 3-Khurai A/c, securing a total of 7294 votes.

His nearest rival was L Sotinkumar of the CPI, who secured 6071 votes.

The MSCP's Vivek Raj Wangkhem was returned to the Assembly from 4-Kshetrigao A/ c, secoring 6332 votes.

The INC's Md Mohamuddin Shah was in second place with 6093 votes.

In 10-Uripok A/c, sitting MLA P Achou Singh of the FPM was defeated by the INC's L Nandakumar.

Nandakumar secored 4289 votes to Achou's score of 3026.In 11-Sagolband, S Natum of the MNC defeated sitting MLA Dr Kh Loken, representing the INC.

Natum secured 560 votes while Dr Loken secured 4511 votes.

In 12-Keisamthong, the INC's L Jayentakumar lost out to first-timer L Ibomcha of the Federal Party of Manipur by a margin of just 83 votes.

Ibomcha, the former secretary, law, of the government of Manipur, secured 6479 votes.

In 16-Sekmai, the FPM's N fiiien secured 6023 votes to defeat his nearest rival, sitting MLA Kh Chnadra of the NCP by a margin of 4738 votes.

In 17-Lamsang, the INC's W Brajabidhu defeated the Federal party's S Rajen Singh by a handy margin of 2280 votes.

Brajabidhu secured altogether 11859 votes.

In 27-Moirang.A/c, the FPM's S Gopal secured 775 votes to beat the MPP's L Kerani by a margin of over a thousand votes.

In 30-Lilong, the INC's Dr Md Maniruddin Sheikh secured 7561 votes to defeat his nearest rival Md Hellaluddin Khan.

In 45-Chingai, the INC's A Aza beat the sitting MLA, the FPM's Dr Khashim Ruivah, securing a total of 7761 votes.

In 51-Saitu A/c, the INC's Ngamthang Haokip secured a total of 13675 votes to defeat the sitting MLA Haokholent Kipgen.

In 41-Chandel A/c, BD Behring of the BJP romped home, defeating his nearest rival, the MSCP's T Chungsei Haokip by a margin of nearly 15 thousand votes.

Behring secured altogether 23183 votes. The Samata Party, which led the last government in the state, opened its account late in the day, with L Lala Singh winning in 1-Khundrakpam A/c.Lala secured 3255 votes, as against 2810 votes secured by his nearest rival, K Tomba of the FPM.

Meanwhile, in Oinam A/c, the sitting MLA, Dr.Y Jiten of the MSCP has been defeated by the NCP's L Radhakishore.

Radhakishore secured 7126 votes as against Jiten's 6530.In Bishnupur, former power minister K Govindas retained his seat, defeating N Sanajaoba of the DPP by a little more than 1200 votes.

Govindas secured a total of 10,740 votes.

In 28-Thanga, the FPM's Salam Ibohal was elected, securing a total of 3781 votes.

He piped H Manisana of the MSCP to the post by just 16 votes.

Reports reaching here also said FPM candidate L Tomba has won in 31-Thoubal A/c, MPP candidate Dr Nimaichand Luwang in Wanghem A/c, the INC's Md Abdul Salam in 36-Wabagai, and the CPI's Th Tomba in 37-Kakching A/c.INC candidate Francis Ngajokpa has also won in 49-Tadubi.INC candidate W Leima was leading in Naoriya Pakhanglakpa, but the results have been withheld owing to a dispute.