Repoll ordered in 73 booths
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, February 22: The Election Commission of India (ECI) has ordered repoll in a whooping 73 polling centres spread across the 17 hill Assembly constituencies after widespread booth capturing and rigging have been reported in the final phase State election yesterday.

The counting will be done in two phases on February 24 and 25.However, the timing of voting remains unchanged beginning from 7 am till 4 pm, said a notification issued by the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Manipur today.

Polling stations 41/26 Sugnu Tribal of Chandel AC and 42/1 Tollen, 42/22 Purum Tampak and 42/29 Leibi of Tengnoupal AC in Chandel district will go to the first phase repoll on February 24.Others going to the repoll in the first phase include 43/21 Meiring, 43/27 Nambashi Khullen of Phungyar AC and 44/10 Yaolen of Ukhrul AC in Ukhrul district, 47/14 Phaibung Khunou, 47/27 Ngari Khullen, 47/42 Shebang and 47/31 Khongdei Simphung UJB of Karong AC, 48/15 Sajouba UJB School of Mao AC, 46/8 Lhungjang LP School, 46/13 Khongnangpokpi LP School, 46/16 Awang Longa Koireng Jr HS, 46/19 Chingdai Khullen UJB, 46/26 Chaningpokpi Jr HS, 46/30 Maphou Kuki UJB, 46/31 Kamusaichang LP School and 46/36 Phawoibi LP School of Saikul AC and 50/13 Makui Khullen HS of Kangpokpi AC in Senapati district.

Repolling will also be held on February 24 at 53/1 L Pabram, 53/ 3 Sonpram, 53/22 Bamgaijang of Tamenglong AC, 54/23 Longkaiphun of Nungba AC in Tamenglong district, from 58/25 to 58/31 Bijang Loubuk stations, 58/38 Lanva and 58/41 Sava Lhangbung of Churachandpur AC and 59/1 Leisasng, 59/4 Toupokpi, 59/8 Molnom, 59/9 Bethel, 59/12 Saidan (A), 59/15 Saiton Khullen, 59/16Haotak Khullen, 59/18 Lalumbung, 59/19 Tuiring-phaisen, 59/20 Dampi, 59/30 Tuibong, 59/31 Tuibong, 59/32 Tuibong HQs and 59/35 Zomi Colony of Saikot AC.

Those going to the repoll on Febraury 25 include 52/13 Thenjang, 52/19 Lasan and 52/46 Nungkao of Tamei AC in Tamenglong district, 55/8 Sibapurikhal, 55/15 Ngampabung, 55/21 Lungthulien and 55/23 Rovakot of Tipaimukh AC, 56/5 Milongmun and 56/12 Suangpehmun of Thanlon AC, 57/21 Tokpa Kabui and 57/21 Khoirentak Khuman of Henglep AC in Churachandpur district.

Another 14 booths in Singhat AC of the district will also face repoll in the second phase.

They are 60/1 Buksau, 60/2 Zabellei, 60/9 Tuaitengphai (A), 60/10 Tuaitengphai (B), 60/13 Mongbung, 60/14 Sangaikot, 60/15 Lamlai, 60/18 Saiboh, 60/19 Khoinoi, 60/20 Singheu, 60/21 Khongkhai, 60/22 Teikot, 60/23 Hiangtam Khunou and 60/36 Tonjang.

The notification said that Returning Officers concerned have been directed to make necessary arrangement for the repoll and Police Department will take up appropriate security measures.

Meanwhile, a report said that barring 8 ballot boxes of 41 Chandel poll centre, all the ballot boxes of the final phase polling have reached respective district headquarters by till late this evening.