Repoll in 117 polling stations ordered
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, April 21: Tentatively putting the overall official polling figure at 55 percent and a lowly 33.58 percent in Thoubal district in yesterday's election for the Outer Manipur Parliamentary constituency the State election authority has ordered three phased repoll in 117 polling stations.

Beginning from tomorrow the repoll would continue till April 30.The repoll are to be conducted due to non-arrival of poll personnel and materials due to landslides in several hill districts besides widespread cases of poll material snatching and destruction by unidentified armed persons.

While polling stations within Tamenglong district accounted for the highest number of repoll at 64, Churachandpur stood at 21, followed by Senapati with 16, Jiribam eight, Chandel four, Thoubal three and one in Kangpokpi sub-division.

For the first phase repoll tomorrow, poll personnel escorted by heavy security force have already left for their respective destinations along with requisite materials.

Notable absence among the polling stations recommended for repoll is Arong Khunjao Litan Makhong where polling materials including electronic voting machines were snatched and dumped into the river on the eve of the poll date.

the UNLF had claimed responsibility for the action.

Even though the Thoubal DC who is also the Assistant Returning Officer of the district had intimated State election authorities informing that zero voting was recorded in three polling stations of Arong Khunjao Litan Makhong the said stations do not figure in the repoll lists.

Re-polling stations for the first phase are Wabagai (C-2), sora (A) and Tangjeng Khunjao-Khunou in Thoubal district; Lamlong Khullen, Khunbi, Kangoi and Kangoi Khunungshi in Chandel; Khoirentak Khuman, Thingkangphai (B), Tollen and Kumbi Pukhri in Churachandpur; and Chingdai Khullen in Kangpokpi sub-division.

Lhangjang, Tuilumjang, Vungbuk and I Boljang of Chu-rachandpur district; and maiba (A), Purul Akutpa A/B/C, Ngari Khullen (A), Ngamju, Thingba Khullen A/B, Senapati (A), Ma-ram Khullakpa Sagei A/B, Ma- ram Makha Sagei A/B, Katomei, Taphou Naga and Taphou Naga (A) would go for the repoll on April 24.In the April 30 last phase repoll, 27 polling stations are in Tamei sub-division of Tameng-long district, six in Tamenglong district headquarters and 31 in Nungba sub-division while 13 are in Tipaimukh sub-division of Churachandpur district and eight in Jiribam sub-division of Imphal East district.

The polling stations in Tamenglong district are Makui- nong, Lemta, Nallong, Kuilong, Dunong, Illeng, Katiang, Khu-ngdongkhunkhaiba, Mandeu, Pumram, Abem, Longchai, New Kaiphundai, Nungkao, Longjon, Phaitol, Sibilong, Muktokhal, Vangaichungpao, Oinamlong, Kaimai, Thingchamphai, Thingra, Kabui Khullen, Nagaching, Oktan, Langkhong, Lukhambi, Haochong (A), Hao-chong (B), Nungtek, Awang khul, Marangjing, Noney (A), Noney (B), Okoklong, Mongjaron Khunou, Nungnang, Charoichakotlong, Taosang Khullen, Taodaijang, Nungba HQ, Bolongdai, Kambiron, Thangal, Lamdangmei, Lubanglong, Dollang, Luwanglong Khunou, Thanagong, Gaidimjang, Satudai, Khoupum Taodaijang, Mukti Khullen, Longkaiphun, Nungbai, Nungadang, Nungleiban, Nungsai Joujangtek, Longpi, Sempat Gangte, Chongmun and Gallon.

Churachandpur: Tingmun, Doltang, Henchungpunji, Suangphumun, Tuisen (Nou-tunlalpani), Buangmun, Phaibokmunlien, Sibapurikhal, Upper Kharkhuplien, Tieulien, Kangrengdhor, Kangreng, Ngampabung.

Jiribam: Bhutangkhal, Chhotobekra, Borobekra, Guwakhal, Jukuradhor-I(E/W), Jukuradhor-I(W/W), Jakuradhor-II, Durgapur.