Nearly six lakhs to vote to elect 20 leaders today
Source: The Imphal Free Press

Imphal, February 20: Amidst indications of the likelihood of violence, a total electorate of 582321 voters will exercise their franchise tomorrow in the five hill districts in the second phase of the 8th Manipur Assembly elections tomorrow.

The 20 constituencies also have a total of 1232 service voters.

A total of 124 candidates are fighting it out in 20 Assembly constituencies spread over the districts of Chandel, Churachandpur, Senapati, Tamenglong and Ukhrul.

There are a total of 899 polling stations in these 20 constituencies, out of which 327 have been designated as hyper sensitive and 210 as sensitive.

Chandel district has two constituencies - Chandel A/c and Tengnoupal A/c, in which six and three candidates respectively are fighting it out.

In Churachandpur district, five candidates are in the fray in Tipaimukh A/c, five in Thanlon A/c, nine in Henglep A/c, ten in Churachandpur A/c, six in Saikot and nine in Singngat.

In Ukhrul district, eight candidates arc in the fray in Phungyar, including former chief minister Rishang Keishing, three in Ukhrul A/c, and six in Chingai.

In Senapati district, nine candidates are in the fray in Saikul A/c, six in Karong A/c, five in mao A/c, ten in Tadubi, eight in Kangpokpi and six in Saitu.

In Tamenglong district, three candidates are in the fray in Tamei A/c, three in Tamenglong A/c and four in Nungba.