Poll officials head for stations
Source: The Imphal Free Press

Churachandpur, February17: Dispatch of polling personnel and security personnel who will be on duty at the remotest corners of Churachandpur district during the second phase of elections on February 21 began today from the district headquarters.

Security personnel and polling personnel who will be on duty at remote polling stations in Tipaimukh Assembly constituency in particular lefty the district headquarters today, according to an official release.

A contingent of election duty officials for Henglep, Thanlon and Tipaimukh will also leave for their respective polling stations tomorrow, the release added.

Some 100 polling personnel for the rest of the polling stations in the district will leave for duty on February 19 and 20 next.

Altogether 236 polling officials are being utilized for the coming elections in the district and 86 vehicles will be used in the polls.

With regard to security arrangements, sources added that security personnel for 15 polling stations in Tipaimukh A/c were also dispatched today from the Churachandpur public ground.

More personnel will be dispatched tomorrow to 12 polling stations in Tipaimukh A/c, 16 polling stations in Thanlon A/c 57 polling stations in Henglep constituency.

Apart from Central forces, state armed personnel to be deployed for the elections in the district include 359 men of the 1st IRB, 188 of the 2nd MR and 50 of the civil police.