UCM refuses to budge, NH-39 boycott still on
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, September 15: Despite a fervent appeal from the Chief Minister to lift the boycott of Nh-39, the United Committee Manipur has decided to stick to the boycott call until a joint meeting of the Governments of Manipur and Nagaland, Centre and UCM is convened to hold strategic talks on providing adequate security along the two national highways.

A meeting of to find a solution to the imbroglio was held today between the representatives of the UCM and the CM at the latter’s office from 2 pm till 5 pm today.

The UCM representatives made it clear to the CM that they would not budge from their stand until the joint meeting is held and the Centre gives standing assurance that adequate security would be provided on the highways.

During the meeting, the Chief Minister told the UCM representatives that the State Government is trying to organize the joint meeting and appealed to them to lift the boycott during the interregnum.

Even though the deadline set by the UCM to hold a joint meeting of the Governments of Nagaland, Manipur and UCM and to be presided by Deputy Prime Minister LK Advani at Imphal expired today, the Committee has decided to put on hold its threat of intensified agitation in view of the efforts put in by the State Government to hold the meeting.

A meeting between UCM and transporters was also held today, said UCM in a statement.

The meeting decided to support the course of action taken up by UCM in collaboration with the people and to ensure that no communal tension arises during the course of the agitation launched by the UCM.

UCM has convened an all-political party meeting at the State Guest House on September 17 at 11 am to discuss the highway issues.

The Committee has also appealed to all militant groups and others concerned not to harass and target vehicles passing through NH-53.The UCM representatives who met the CM included Sapamcha Jadumani, H Kulla, RK Ranendrajit, Yumnamcha Dilipkumar, K Langamba, Joy Chingakham, A Hemochandra, M Deven and Ng Nongyai.