Re-polls in 31 polling stations today
Source: The Imphal Free Press

Imphal, February 15: The Election Commission of India, ECI, has ordered re-polls in a total of 31 polling stations spread over 12 Assembly constituencies where polling was disrupted yesterday.

The repolls will be held tomorrow (16th February) from 7 am onwards under tight security in the respective polling stations.

Official sources said the state election office had recommended the 31 polling stations for repelling to the ECI yesterday and the latter’s approval for holding repolls tomorrow was received this morning.

Repolls are to be held in a total of 15 polling stations in Imphal East district with Thongju Assembly constituency, which saw several incidents of booth capturing and destruction of election material, will have repolling in seven polling stations.

Repolling has been ordered in a single polling station in Imphal West district in Langthabal A/c.repolls will also be held in a further 15 polling stations in Thoubal district including ten polling stations in Sugunu A/c.meanwhile, official sources said most arrangements for holding the repolls in 31st polling stations and the concerned polling personnel left the office of the respective Returning Officers this evening with adequate security escorts.

Regarding security arrangements, the sources said at least 10 armed and unarmed security personnel will be posted at each polling station where repolls will be held.