12 to slug it out for 2 LS seats
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, April 10: Altogether 12 candidates including three independents are in the fray to fight it out for the two Lok Sabha seats on offer in the State for which election in the Outer Parliamentary seat is scheduled to be held on April 20 while the Inner seat with see the election on April 26.There are six candidates each in the two Parliamentary constituencies.

In the Outer, six candidates including a woman, Kim Gangte of the MPP will fight it out on April 20.Theother candidates are B JP's Loli Adanee, NCP's Holkhomang Haokip, AITC's Morung Makunga, JD (U)'s Rosangzuala and Independent candidate Mani Cheranamei.

Earlier Valley Rose Hungyo of the NNP had withdrawn her candidature while the nomination papers of Congress nominee, GAD Minister Francis Ngajokpa were rejected.

Though the Congress and the NCP have worked out an electoral alliance at the all India level, the MPCC (I) and the State unit of the NCP are yet to announce their stand publicly.

The FPM has agreed to support Kim Gangte in the Outer.

As none of the candidates in the Inner withdrew their nomination papers today, there are six left in the fray now for the second phase of the polling which will be held on April 26.The candidates in the Inner Parliamentary seat are CPI's Dr Nara, FPM president Dr L Chandramani, State BJP chief Th Chaoba, Higher Education Minister Dr T Meinya (Congress), and two independent candidates, Nongmaithem Iboyaima and Nongmaithem Homendra.

General observer SP Marwah and expenditure observer KS Pathania were present at the last date of the withdrawal of the nomination papers today.

As no one withdrew, Returning Officer Y Surchandra today issued a gazette notification notifying that 6 candidates are left in the fray in the Inner seat.

A total of 15,36,508 voters will decide the fate of the 12 candidates in the fray.

Of this total, 7,95,792 voters are in the Outer while in the Inner the total number of voters is 7,40,716.There will be a total of 2005 polling stations with 1094 in the Outer and 911 in the Inner.

The highest number of voters in an Assembly segment in the Outer is Karong AC with 45,403 voters while the AC with the least number of voters us Tipaimukh with 15,170 voters.

The polling .station with the least number of electorates is Dolthang Lower Primary School with only 86 voters registered here.

In the Inner the Moirang AC has the highest number of voters with 29,561 while the Assembly Constituency with the least number of voters is Singjamei AC with 18,255.The polling station with the least number of voters is Bhairodan High School with 177 voters registered.