ERR MSAD 2010 ELECTION RULES & REGULATIONS (ERR)

ANNUAL GENERAL ELECTION FOR THE EXECUTIVE TERM 2010-2011 Manipur Students' Association Dalhi

Manipur Students' Association Delhi

I. GENERAL INFORMATION

- 1. Read carefully the ERR before filling up the forms.
- 2. MSAD Annual General Election for the Executive Term 2010-2011 will be held on Monday, 20 December 2010 for the following executive posts:
 - President,
 - Vice-President,
 - General Secretary,
 - Organisation Secretary,
 - Finance Secretary,
 - Public Relations Secretary,
 - Academic & Magazine Secretary,
 - Games & Sports Secretary and
 - Cultural Secretary.
- 3. Students willing to contest election must obtain a complete set of nomination form. The nomination form has six pages. The first three pages are general layout of information & ERR. The following three pages contain three forms that a candidate (Form I) and his/ her proposer and seconder (Form II & III respectively) must duly fill up and submit to the Election Committee.
- 4. Last date for filing of nomination form and withdrawal of candidature is 17 December 2010. Nomination form will not be accepted after 8 p.m.
- 5. The Election Committee will conduct scrutiny of candidature on 18 December, 2010 at the Open Air Theatre, Arts Faculty, University of Delhi (North Campus) at 4 p.m. A candidate must report for scrutiny along with his/ her proposer and seconder to the Election Committee by 4 p.m.
- 6. Oath taking ceremony of the MSAD Executives for the 2010-2011 term will be held on Tuesday, 21 December 2010 at the Open Air Theatre, Arts Faculty, University of Delhi (North Campus) at 11 a.m.

II. SECURITY DEPOSIT

- 7. A candidate must deposit in cash a sum of Rs. 500/- (five hundred) only as security deposit when submitting nomination form. Of this security money Rs. 300/- (three hundred) only is refundable for those candidates who lose in the election.
- 8. Security deposit of the candidates who failed to turn up for the scrutiny is not refundable.
- 9. A complete form costs Rs. 20/- (twenty) only.

III. Election Agent

- 10. A candidate must send two election agents for every polling station and they must be present till end of counting of the votes.
- 11. Failure to send two agents will not give any validity of claims upon any violation of ERR during and after the election.

IV. Discretion

- 12. Polling officer of each polling station is the sole authority to decide upon any matter relating to ensuring strict and fair election.
- 13. The Election Committee will endeavour to declare election result within five hours after end of casting of votes.
- 14. Each candidate should submit a brochure of election expenditure to the Election Committee within five days after oath taking without fail. Failure to submit it will amount to violating the ERR and is liable for any candidate who holds any office to be terminated by a resolution of the Election Committee.
- 15. If any person or group is found guilty of violating the ERR, the person or the group should bear all expenses of election process and will be duly dealt in an immediate session of the Election Committee, which may consider termination of the candidature if there is any whom the person or the group factually and clearly support(s).

V. Poling

- 16. Polling will be conducted at the following three areas;
 - Jamia Islamia University Campus,
 - JNU Campus,
 - University of Delhi, North Campus.
- 17. Polling starts at 10.30 a.m. and closes at 3.30 p.m.

VI. Eligibility:

- 18. Students pursuing a **Post-Graduate Regular or Correspondence** course in any of the Universities based in Delhi and recognized by the UGC or institutions in Delhi recognized by the Government of Delhi and who have stayed for a complete one year in Delhi are eligible to contest election for the post of the MSAD President.
- 19. Students pursuing at least a **Graduate Regular or Correspondence** course in any institutions or colleges affiliated to any of the Universities in Delhi recognized by the UGC are eligible to contest election for the post of Vice-President, General Secretary, Finance Secretary, Organisation Secretary, Public Relations Secretary, Academic & Magazine Secretary, Sports Secretary and Cultural Secretary.

VII. Voting Rights:

- 20. Voting right is exclusively restricted to Manipuri students in Delhi whose names are in the voters list of MSAD.
- 21. A voter can cast vote not more than once and only at one of the polling stations.
- 22. A voter must inform to the Election Committee, latest by 10 December 2010, his/her name, address of the institution and the details of the course of study and the student identity card that he/she must produce at the time of verification by the poling officer. Verification of the identity card of a voter is mandatory for issuing a ballot paper against his/her name.
- 23. The student identity card mentioned above should bear the name of the institution and should be an identity card issued by the legitimate authority of the concerned institution.
- 24. Last date for registration of names to the voters list is 10 December 2010.
- 25. Students of Class X and below standards are not eligible to cast vote.

VIII. Proposer and Seconder:

- 26. A candidate must have at least a proposer and a seconder, who will be responsible for the overall conduct of the candidate during election and during his/ her official tenure if elected.
- 27. A proposer or a seconder must be a bonafide student in Delhi.

28. Both the proposer and seconder must be present for scrutiny. Their failure to present in person along with the candidate for scrutiny will be considered as violation of ERR by the concerned candidate and could amount to disqualification of the later from contesting election.

IX. Documents Required:

- 29. A candidate and his/ her proposer/ seconder must attach the following documents while submitting the form.
- 30. Attested Photocopy of Valid Identity Card issued by concerned authority where he/ he is enrolled as student.
- 31. Bonafide Certificate issued by College or University.
- 32. Attested photocopy of High School Leaving Certificate
- 33. Attested photocopy of mark sheet of the last examination passed.

X. Contact:

34. For information related to election please contact the Election Committee:

•	Malem Ningthouja:	Chairperson	9899925345
•	Saikhom Nikol:	Returning Officer	9871631423
•	Damudor Arambam:	Returning Officer	9718372897
•	Erabanta Laitonjam:	Member	9990773713
•	Irengbam Chetan:	Member	9716441977
•	Joskeny Nongmaithem:	Member	9540682554
•	Laishram Rajchandra:	Member	9716254235
•	R.K. Sanayaima:	Member	7503588213
٠	Thoi Thoi Kongkham:	Member	7503873671

35. For registration of name(s) to the voters list, please write to: msadelectioncommittee@gmail.com

Dated/Delhi 21 November 2010.

Sd/-Malem Ningthouja, Chairperson, MSAD Election Committee

Phone: +919899925345 msadelectioncommittee@gmail.com